Go Navy

Last weekend, Alex and I visited one of his high school buddies who goes to the Naval Academy, right after he’d received his assignment as a Naval Pilot–so cool!!!

It was really great to get away for a weekend and to see this beautiful campus, where so many men and women have gone and after their time there, commit their lives to serve and protect our country.  It gives me serious goose bumps.

My favorite part of campus was the chapel. It’s such a popular destination for weddings that each party is given 45 minutes for a ceremony, before the next wedding party is out of the bus and antsy to get inside.  That means no time for pictures–how crazy is that?

After touring campus and learning only a small portion of the incredible history rooted in this beautiful place, we went on a little shopping spree! (yay!)

The downtown area of Annapolis is so cute and has so much personality.  It’s right on the water so it can get a little chilly, but with a hot coffee in hand, and the goal to buy something cute, I managed.

Lilac Bijoux was the best boutique by far.  They had a great selection of clothes as well as jewelry and for reasonable prices.  I snagged the perfect gold hoops, and an oversized vest that I cannot wait to share with you all soon.  Not to mention, I’ve already picked out a few jewelry pieces for Santa to bring next month. (Hopefully I’ve been good enough.)

While the scenery, history, brunch (Teavolve Cafe & Lounge, you MUST go if you’re ever in Baltimore!! ), brews and shops were all wonderful additions to the trip, I’d have to say the best part was the company.  Brock and Gigi were incredibly hospitable, and I had so much fun taking trips down memory lane, learning about Alex in high school, the good, the bad, and the super embarrassing; remembering the “old days,” as my parents would say, while making new memories and forging new friendships.

Love and friendship are difficult relationships to make and even more difficult to maintain, but this weekend was a reminder to me that I have been blessed with both. As for now, it’s time to drive home and I’m SO excited to see my dad!

With Thanksgiving tomorrow, I’m refusing to be naïve.  I know it will be tough, the first one without mom.  However, I’m also trying to remind myself that she’s always there, in each and every one of us surrounding the table, and that I still have so much to be thankful for. God knows she’s having a bigger and better feast than us!! 😉

Thank you so much for reading, I hope you all had a wonderful and blessed weekend.  See you tomorrow for Thankful Thursday!

xo,

Liv

image

IMG_8969

IMG_8986

IMG_9013

IMG_9029

IMG_9035

IMG_9037

IMG_9061

IMG_9074

One thought on “Go Navy

  1. Bless your heart Olivia & tell your Dad and family Hi and Happy Thanksgiving 😄🍗

Leave a Reply

